History to explore
around Seaham

The first land grants were made at Seaham in the early 1820’s and a thriving community developed through the years when the Williams River was the major transport link with Clarence Town and Newcastle. Decline began with the by-passing of Seaham by the Main North Coast railway line at the time of the First World War. A disastrous bushfire in January 1939 destroyed many buildings in the Seaham district and significant links with the past were lost.

The village of Seaham has a rich history.

Explore these places of interest in our local area.

Worimi Country

The Traditional Owners of Seaham are the Garawegal clan of the Worimi.

Seaham Swamp

The swamp is a small but valuable coastal refuge for water birds.

Tom’s Cottage

A good example of an early colonial rural building, moved here in 1921.

Seaham Park

Dedicated as a Reserve for Public Recreation in 1838

School of Arts

Built in 1902, a great example of a Federation period rural hall.

Edgeworth David Quarry

Dedicated as a Reserve for Scientific Purposes in 1925.

The Knitting Circle

Erected in 1921 to honour those lost during the WW1.

Porphyry Vineyard

Established in 1839 International award winning wines

Williams River

The lower reaches of the Williams Rivers were first recorded in 1801.

St Andrews Church

Constructed from local stone in the late 1850’s and dedicated in 1860.

The Seaham Hotel

The hotel was constructed in 1903-04 by Thomas and Mary McDonald.

Brandon House

This private home is closed to the public but you can discover more here.

Seaham Cemetery

Notable graves include those of early European pioneers.

Seaham School

Opened in 1885 on the site of the present school.